Posted by: CatherineD | July 19, 2009

Week in Review

The past week has flown by. This is a very good thing, and I hope it continues to fly this quickly while we wait for the travel call. After we have Daniel home, time can slow down again so I can soak up every moment.

Last Saturday (the 11th) was our baby shower. It was a co-ed shower hosted by my friend Alaina (whom I have known since 7th grade) and my mom. It was such a nice party, and Daniel received a TON of cool stuff. We are so blessed to have such wonderful family and friends. The funniest game was the one where you have to guess which melted candy bars are in the diapers. So disgusting yet hilarious at the same time. My dad wanted nothing to do with it. 🙂

Hmmm... Butterfinger or Heath?

Hmmm... Butterfinger or Heath?

Super cute cake, made by Mom's friend Wilma

Super cute cake, made by Mom's friend Wilma

Opening gifts

Opening gifts

Modeling the latest in toddler couture

Modeling the latest in toddler couture

Wednesday was a co-worker’s birthday, and I made her a cake.

My roses weren't half bad!

My roses weren't half bad!

On Friday, we interviewed a pediatrician who came highly recommend by two friends. She was wonderful, and it’s obvious that she loves what she does. She looked over Daniel’s health records and said that everything looks great, and his growth seems to be right on track. She made us feel so comfortable, it was like talking with a friend. The only downside is that she is about a 25 minute drive from our house. I don’t know if I want to drive a sick child that far? She did give us the names of two doctors that might be closer to our house, which makes me love her even more! We will check them out as well, but it will be hard to top her.

On Saturday, we drove to Tucson to meet our new nephew! He is about 1 month, and really cute. Right now, he mostly sleeps, eats and poops (not always in that order!). We also got to see our 20-month-old niece, who is so much fun and loves to talk! It’s nice that Daniel has cousins close to his age.

Last night, my grandmother stayed with us while my parents went out dancing (crazy kids!). She has dementia, so she often asks the same questions over and over. When it comes to questions about Daniel, though, I don’t mind. In fact, I love it. Grandma’s the only one who wants to hear me talk about Daniel ALL. DAY. LONG. and look at the same 10 pictures again and again as if it were the first time.

Responses

  1. The shower sounds like so much fun!

    And I think every AP wants a grandma like yours! 🙂

  2. I LOVE the candy bar diaper game. HILARIOUS!!!
    Isn’t it great to find a wonderful doctor, too? Such great peace of mind.
    And your grandmother sounds so sweet. I’m so excited that you guys are so close…

  3. That first pic is too funny! Showers really make things so much more real. Congratulations! I hope the goods you got will fill out the nursery nicely.


Leave a Reply

Categories

