Posted by: CatherineD | August 4, 2009

Transformation

I’ve been terrible about keeping up with this blog. Lately, I’d rather read others’ blogs and shop than write. Oh, and shop…

Has anyone else noticed their spending/window shopping habits changing since beginning the adoption process?

Not too long ago, it seemed like I was at the mall shopping for clothes every weekend, if not more. It was my therapy.

Boy, did I hit the jackpot when I got two Anthropologie gift cards for my birthday in March! True to form, the first chance I got, we (I dragged talked Brian into going with me) headed out on a shopping adventure. In the dressing room, Brian settled in on the couch, checked email and played games on his Blackberry while I tried on a gazillion outfits.

The weirdest thing happened, though. Although I tried on lots of fabulous things, there wasn’t anything I wanted to spend my money on. I tried again a few weeks later, with the same result. Nothing. What happened? Where was that just-found-the-cutest-dress ‘buzz’ that I so craved? It was like shopping for clothes had lost its magic.

So, I’m sure you’ve guessed already, but now, that natural high comes from buying baby gear and craft supplies! If someone had told me five years ago “in five years, you will no longer have the desire to buy clothes for yourself and instead you’ll spend hours in Babies ‘R’ Us and Michaels,” I would have laughed.

And guess what else? I have been coveting my parents’ new mini-van. And, I’m not even afraid to admit it!

That's right. You heard me. I want a mom-mobile!

That's right. You heard me. I want a mom-mobile!

Responses

  1. I haven’t been shopping for myself in eons! I hear you – crafts and baby stuff – but craft stuff for the baby… I havent’ gotten into the minivan mode yet – I’m a SUV girl 😉

    • I love my SUV, too, but it’s funny to me that I always swore I would never drive a mini van! They just seem so practical and comfy, and I love the ones with the sliding doors on both sides!

  2. Oh, I totally know the transformation you are referring too! I knew I was a goner when I asked to stop in Lu*cky and only looked at the baby clothes! My mom and sister couldn’t pick their jaws up off the floor!


Leave a Reply

Categories

