Posted by: CatherineD | August 6, 2009

1 Month?

Today’s post was going to be an explanation of the name of our blog, but instead I wanted to announce something much more exciting…

Daniel may be home in a month!!! We received an email from our agency this morning that his paperwork is now with the Korean government, and the processing time has been about 1 month from that point. The email said that our SW was on vacation, but she will be contacting us with more updates.

Brian saw the email first while he was at work, so he called and said I needed to check email. He sounded excited, so I immediately thought of Daniel. In the back of my mind, though, I didn’t want to get too excited because it might be something like ‘the Diamondbacks are going to the World Series’ or ‘the Suns are getting LeBron James’ (two things that Brian would get excited about). Not that either of those things is likely to happen…

As soon as I read it, the waterworks started and there have been scattered showers for most of the day (that’s me trying to be clever, then thinking that people won’t get it, so I have to explain). It’s really happening for us. Wow!  I am emotionally drained, and just a little loopy! And this is only the beginning.

All of a sudden I feel like there are a ton of things we need to get done before he comes home. And, I’m kicking myself for not doing them sooner. If anyone has resources they’d like to share about Seoul/traveling with baby/things to pack/travel books to buy/Korean for Dummies books & CDs, or whatever – please let me know!

And here is what might be the last family photo without Daniel…

DSC_0041

Responses

  1. Yahoo!!! I think everyone goes through the “oh-my-gosh-why-didn’t-we-do-this-sooner!” phase. You’ll get what you can done and the rest doesn’t matter. Oh, so excited for you!!!!

  2. Yeah!!! How exciting! The next month will really fly by quickly! I can’t remember – but what agency in Seoul are you using? I have a list of tips and tricks for the SWS if that is where you will be.

    • We’re using Eastern.

  3. My other friend who is adopting from Korea brought her daughter home THIS WEEK! I haven’t been able to talk with her, but she indicated everything went very well.

  4. So VERY exciting!! I hope we’ll be going in a month too, but I’m not sure when it will be. I think we got our referrals around the same time. (Our referral date was 5/6.)

  5. Oh…I forgot to say: GREAT picture in this post!

  6. Fabulous photo of four!!! Can’t wait to see the photo of five!!! Ummm… yeah, I totally had the “why-didn’t-i-do-this-sooner” moment. Especially when we got our travel call in six weeks instead of three months! I lived by the lonely planet seoul guidebook… and the one thing I didn’t pack but wish I did?! A bottle brush and detergent!

  7. Woohoo!! Great news!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

