Posted by: CatherineD | August 9, 2009

You smell what?

I know all of you readers have had many a sleepless night trying to figure out the madness behind the name of this blog. Well, maybe not… but I thought I’d offer an explanation anyway.

Picture this: Brian, my sister and I were on our first game drive in Addo Elephant National Park in the Eastern Cape of South Africa. We saw so many amazing animals – kudu, hartebeest, jackals, buffalo, zebras, lions, warthogs (my favorite!) – but toward the end of the drive, we had not seen any elephants!

We were excited to see the elephants, so our guide drove us to some of the favorite elephant hangouts. We were all looking in different directions, competing to be ‘the first’ to announce a sighting. It was kinda comical. When you think about how massive these beasts are, how could it be that we had not seen one of the 450+ animals for whom the park was named? It’s not like they could hide behind a tree…

So, we’re driving along, the only sounds the whir of the motor and the crunching of gravel under the jeep’s tires. Breaking our concentration, Brian announces “I Smell Elephants.” Maybe we were tired, but at the time it was absolutely hilarious. To this day, I still don’t know if he really smelled something that he thought was an elephant, or if he was just trying to make us laugh.

Since that day in February 2008, thinking of that moment has always brought a smile to my face. It reminds me of all of the adventures we have been on together, and how Brian has a way of making every moment fun, whether we’re on safari in the African bush or shopping at the grocery store.

I thought it appropriate for his famous quote to be the title of our blog, as a reminder that no matter where we are, or what new adventure we’re embarking on – if we’re together, it will be fun.

We did see our first elephant shortly after Brian ‘caught a whiff,’ and by the end of our stay at Addo Elephant Park, we saw many many more.

DSC03281

Look how close they are to the jeep!!!

The warthogs were my favorite!

The warthogs were my favorite!

Baby playing in the watering hole

Baby playing in the watering hole

Our guide, Rhyno, my sis Debbie, me, Brian. It was nice... we had the entire jeep to ourselves, so we each took a row.

Our guide, Rhyno, my sis Debbie, me, Brian. It was nice... we had the entire jeep to ourselves, so we each took a row.

Responses

  1. I love it! And I’m totally jealous of your trip 🙂

  2. Wow…that is so cool!! Love the story and the name of your blog (and I am one of those people who was totally wondering about the name…I can sleep at night now. Phew!) THANKS.

  3. What a great story!! I was wondering… and now I know!

  4. Actually, I was wondering too so thanks for explaining! Cool story – and I’ve always wanted to do something like that….


Leave a Reply

Categories

