Posted by: CatherineD | September 4, 2009

Honest Scrap Award

honestscrap

My friend, Elizabeth at ilOve Olive, gave me an Honest Scrap Award.  Thanks, Elizabeth!

Here’s what I’m supposed to do:

1. Choose 7 blogs that you find brilliant in content or design

2. Show the 7 winners’ names and links on your blog, and leave a comment informing them that they have won the Honest Scrap award (I’m also going to skip this part).

I don’t follow that many blogs, so I know some of you are getting the award twice.

When you wish upon a star

Our Growing Family

Our Journey to Jin-Ri

Aiming Arrows

Got Kimchi?

12,450 miles

ilOve Olive

3. List at least 10 honest things about yourself.

1. I dream of being Kate Moss-skinny. Even though I know it isn’t the politically/socially-correct image of a healthy body, and if I had a daughter I would definitely not condone it…

2. I have a Bachelor’s in Vocal Music Performance and studied classical voice in college.

3. I use toilet seat covers and receipts to blot oil from my face.

4. I worry about things that are out of my control. For example – today, I came across the blogs of some very angry Korean adoptees, and I am overwhelmed by their anger and frustration. My heart goes out to them, and I wonder if something in their upbringing triggered this anger, and what can I do to keep Daniel from feeling this way when he’s older?

5. I despise wearing bras.

6. I cry at the drop of a hat.

7. I once had an entire 6th-grade class chanting “Mrs. Desberg’s a ho” over and over as I ‘tried’ to substitute-teach. And I didn’t cry until I got home!

8. When I was 8, my friend Kathryn and I stole some Silly Putty from Cornet.

9. I graduated from high school with a class of 35, in a school of 180, in a town of 2,000.

10. I get mad at Brian for eating ice cream out of the carton and drinking juice right out of the bottle (even though I sometimes do it myself).

Responses

  1. Ok, first of all, thank you, but I’m totally not doing this exercise again. I will frighten my readers with what I’d come up with for another 10 honest things.
    But, more importantly, I absolutely LOVE #3, 5, 7, and 10. I’m very curious as to why the students found you ho-ish. And I love that I’m not the only hypocrite when it comes to nagging one’s husband. Tee hee.

    • It all started when I required them to do their assignments in cursive. Umm… hello… 6th grade? Cursive shouldn’t be a problem, right? Well, I realized that many of the kids couldn’t write in cursive, so instead of admitting it, they lashed out at me. One of the angry ones wrote “Mrs. Desberg’s a ho” on the whiteboard, and somehow the ‘bad’ kids rallied the ENTIRE class (even the studious ones) against me until they were all chanting it together. Most of these kids were taller than me, so it was kinda unnerving. Later, I heard that a parent called the superintendent’s office because her daughter said I was racist for only sending the black and Mexican kids to the prinicipal. Okay, the class was 98% black and Mexican… It was around March, and they asked if I would take the class for the rest of the school year. Their teacher just ‘left’ in the middle of the year (rumor has it he had a nervous breakdown). I actually went back a 2nd day, but decided the stress wasn’t worth the crappy pay.

  2. Hey – these are good ones! I still need to do mine!

    By the way, #4 scares the crap out of me. I’ve run across similar blogs and I just don’t know what to think…. I am hoping they are just a (very vocal) minority and not the “norm” for Korean adoptees. I sure hope so anyway!

    • I guess there are just a lot of angry people out there – adopted and not. Right? We’ll do the best that we can…

  3. I would greatly prefer to never wear a bra. Unfortunately, I think that would be scary for most people who would see me. But, I’m totally with you on that one!

  4. Gee – thanks for the award!
    I can’t believe you had #7 happen! Kids can be so cruel!

  5. Thanks for the nod!! I loved your list… all of them. (Not that they necessarily happen/ed) just the sharing of them.

  6. Catherine! I got your message that we both know Melissa Stevenson! So crazy! It’s such a small world. I taught with her for a year in Lafayette. She’s awesome and her music is too, Xavier loves it.

    Your blog is great (love the title) and we’ll be following it to see when you bring Daniel home – you’re so close!

    P.S. I can’t stand bras!


Leave a Reply

Categories

