Posted by: CatherineD | September 9, 2009

Visa Delay

This morning, we met with our SW for our pre-travel meeting. We also got some unexpected/disappointing news. She spoke with Eastern last night, and they think it will be mid-October before Daniel gets his visa. Our SW didn’t know why it was taking so long – just that it is taking longer than usual.

I tried really hard to be depressed today. I cried a little on the way home from our meeting. I went through the drive-thru at Taco Bell and got a burrito supreme, taco supreme and crispy potato taco. I also ordered a Pepsi instead of my normal bottled water. And, the gods must have been listening, because I got a free order of cinnamon twists when my food took a little longer. I came home, set up the TV tray and got all situated on the couch, fully intending on watching Lifetime movies for the rest of the day. I ended up falling asleep watching the news after I pigged out ate, then woke to the sound of my phone ringing. It was a good friend of mine who was sweet to listen as I recounted the morning’s meeting and was so supportive as I wallowed in self-pity.

At this point, I’m just tired, completely regretting the fast food and most of all – the soda. If I were a cartoon, I’d probably be green right now.

But you know what? I don’t really feel like being depressed anymore! It’s not fun, and it’s completely unproductive. All of this is out of my control. And, it’s only a few weeks more. Brian still thinks that it will happen this month. Always so optimistic. LOVE him!

I want to focus on the fun things we learned today. We got a report on what Daniel’s been up to:

  • Feeding – he eats porridge or rice with a thin soup (?) in the morning and afternoon. He eats bananas, grated apples and yogurt. He is not picky about food (As evidenced by his measurements, below).
  • Toilet/Bathing/Sleeping – He has a normal bowel movement every day (Does this mean just one? I was imagining numerous poopy diapers per day, so this is good news, right? We’re clueless.). He enjoys having a bath and plays with toys in the water for quite a while. He goes to sleep at 10 p.m. (wow, night owl!) and sleeps through until 6 – 7 a.m. He takes a 2 hour nap from 10 a.m. and a 1 to 2-hour nap from 2 – 3 p.m.
  • Development – He babbles a lot, speaking Eomma (mom) and Abba (dad), squeals with delight, stands up holding onto something, is able to walk with both hands held, plays Jjakjjakung (a clapping game) and Doridori (shaking head). I found a little info about both of these games in the ‘comments’ section of this post at Kimchi Mamas.
  • Physical measurements (converted from metric to whatever our measurement system is called) – Weight = 22.8 lbs, Length = 19 inches, Head = 18 inches (Whoa – does that mean his head is almost as big around as he is tall?) My friend Alaina says a big head is good. Means he must have a big brain. 🙂 Chest = 17 inches, Teeth = 2/2 (Brian’s guess is 2 top and 2 bottom?).

We have a pool going with our families to guess how much D will weigh when he gets here. My Grandma’s first guess was 35. We talked her down to 28, but regardless – he is a big boy! Upon Krista at When you wish upon a star’s recommendation, I am lifting weights, but I might need to step it up a little. We’ll be ready for you, little Daniel!

So here’s your reward for making it all the way through this post. A totally unrelated, cute picture of a mama chicken and babies that I took in Maui. It was raining, and they were all huddled under her to keep dry. Look at all the little legs under her!
DSC06329-136

The best husband EVER just came home from work – and since I was a little down, he brought me a beautiful plant and a cute giraffe lovey for Daniel. 🙂

Responses

  1. I’m sorry that your wait might be longer than you thought. That sucks! But hopefully Brian is right. Anyway, it must be nice to get some details about Daniel so you can start imagining what he’s like. Here’s hoping September flies by for you!

  2. Oh, I’m so sorry to read that your wait might be longer than you were thinking! I hope that they are just trying to set “worst case expectations” and that it does happen this month!

    (And are you sure they didn’t mean 29 inches tall?)

  3. PS – It sounds like Daniel’s doing great!

    (Someone was banging on the keyboard and entered my comment before I was ready!)

  4. I’m sorry to hear about your delay – how absolutely disappointing. I like your attitude about how it’s not in your control and therefore you can’t be depressed about it forever. (I need to have an attitude like that!) I was also wondering if they meant 29″.

  5. Christine & Kelly – it says 49 cm for height, and Google converts it to 19.2 inches… so he either has a very large head, or he is on the shorter side! Either way, he’s perfect!

    • You’re right – he is perfect regardless! I was more asking since we got mixed up measurements a couple of times… in fact, his discharge report has him weighing 4 more pounds than he weighs *today* never mind when he came home.

    • Oh, of course he is perfect! I didn’t mean to suggest otherwise. I have also heard a lot about mixed-up measurements and since you noted the similar numbers for height and head measurement, that’s why it caught my eye. Daniel is a perfect little boy!

  6. I’m sorry to hear that there is a delay. The same thing happened with Xavier’s visa and Eastern gave us a rough estimate on when it would be ready. The call came sooner than that date so I’m hoping the same thing happens for you. It’s good to hear that Daniel is doing well and is healthy. Keep lifting weights!

  7. Christine – Wow! That is quite the mix-up with S’s weight.

    Christine and Kelly – I know you didn’t mean to suggest otherwise (I don’t get offended easily!). I got out the tape measure, and it seems a lot on the short side. Also, I was just looking at the tags on some of his clothes, and 29 inches would be more likely for a baby of his weight. I just sent an email to my SW to ask about it (although she probably won’t have any more info). Oh well. It will be interesting to find out what the real numbers are!

  8. Ugh, I’m so sorry. Setbacks like this one, at this point in the process, can be SO devastating. We had Korea request more information from us while we were waiting for our travel call and we were convinced that it would set us back another month or so. But we were pleasantly surprised to get The Call a whole week early! So, take heart. Your hubby might be right.
    And don’t kick yourself about pigging out – I would’ve done the same thing. We APs have to pamper ourselves when times are rough. I always got so angry that we had to deal with unexpected delays and things beyond our control, while a bio mom has a pretty firm timeline. It can be really frustrating. But way to go, turning around into something positive! You’ll make it 🙂

  9. Okay, I just heard back from my SW, and she pointed out that it is an error, since he was 23 + inches in the initial history (I didn’t even think to look at that!). She’s going to try and get the corrected numbers. Someday, Daniel is going to have a good laugh about all of this!

    • It’s these things though that make our children’s story so special! You’ll have to let us know if you get new measurements! 🙂

      PS – Glad you don’t offend easily!

  10. Next month – just focus on that! How exciting!
    Taco Bell – haven’t ate there in eons – good comfort food though – especially those twists.
    Dori Dori – ok – now things make sense – Alex used to do that all the time!
    And Cheers for such a great hubby!

  11. This is the first time I’ve been to your blog. I wish you expediency in bringing your little boy home. I know the visa delay is hard to swallow, but am so glad you got some really specific developmental news. You are so close…I’ll be sure to come back to track your progress.

  12. oh, I am so sorry to hear of the delay! I too hope this goes faster than they are saying! This is such a frustrating time. How sweet your homecoming will be. You might want to work on your arm muscles, he’s a big guy!

  13. […] I just received Daniel’s September stats! By the way, the height in the last update was way off – it should have been 69, not 49 cm. We’ve got a very big boy on the […]

  14. OK, I was reading your posts a little out of order. I’m sorry. This completely sucks. I hope it is an over-estimate and that you’ll get good news soon.


Leave a Reply

Categories

