Posted by: CatherineD | September 15, 2009

Banana Cake – Attempt #2

After yesterday’s frustrating banana cake mishap, I thought I’d give it another try. I had one more overripe banana, so why not? This time, I poured the batter into two loaf pans, and although the recipe said to bake at 350 for 1 hour, I checked on it after 30 minutes. It was falling a little in the center, but it looked okay and smelled yummy. So I let it go for another 10 minutes before I checked again. This time, it was very dark brown, the centers had completely caved and it smelled a little bit like it was burning. Not to be crude, but don’t they look like vaginas a little?

Failed Banana Cake2

Not sure why the pic is so blurry.

Okay, so it doesn’t look pretty, but I thought it would probably taste good – especially if I cut off the brown edges. Ummm… no. Completely disgusting. Have you ever tasted something that had way too much baking soda in it? Gross. And, I like to think of myself as a decent baker. I didn’t have the TV on or anything to distract me. I’m pretty sure it’s a defective recipe, so I put a big X through it in the cookbook.

But that’s okay – just another failed banana cake closer to Daniel!

Responses

  1. Okay, your comment about the similarity to certain female anatomy had me laughing to the point of tears! Funny, but true!

  2. Oh my gosh – hysterical. The whole post!

  3. You are hilarious! That photo is so funny, as is your observation about what it looks like 🙂

    Yup, I’d say that recipe is officially a dud.

  4. Um, you and I totally need to hang out sometime. I’m LOVING the fact that the banana cake reminded you of vaginas. LOVE. IT.
    And at this meeting, I will supply the desserts. Please.

  5. I cracked up at the vagina comment, so funny! Did you not eat the loaf yesterday? It looked good despite the fact it overflowed. Again, so funny!

  6. Elizabeth – It’s a deal! Although, I really DO make good desserts! Really!

    Kristin – Other than the very top, the first cake was completely liquid!

  7. I happened across your blog though my HS friend Janet (Seoul Searching). Love your posts about the Banana Cake. I have two AWESOME Banana bread receipes that I would be happy to email you! :0) My recipes won’t leave you with loafs that look like va-jay-jays! :0)

  8. I must admit – at first glance that is what I thought they kinda looked like too…

    • I know, they DO, right? Before Brian even read my post, he saw the picture and said, “Those look like *#$@!”

  9. […] the travel call’s not all we’re celebrating. For those of you who read about my recent adventures in baking, I’d like you to know that I tried another banana bread recipe (Thanks, Lauren!), and it […]

  10. […] had celebratory banana muffins with cream cheese frosting (for those of you that are familiar with my past banana bread issues, you’ll be happy to know that the muffins turned out […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

