Posted by: CatherineD | September 26, 2009

Little Lost Socks

I think I’ve been awake since 4:30, but I made myself stay in bed until 6:30, because from what I’ve heard, I probably will not get a full, restful sleep for the next 18 years or so?

Brian photographed his first wedding last night. I went with him as his ‘assistant.’ Since this has been planned for a few months, we had a back-up photographer ready to step in – in case we were in Korea. But fortunately, it worked out and I’m so glad Brian got this opportunity. There’s no doubt he takes amazing photos, but I was so impressed with his confidence last night. He took charge and seemed as if he’d been doing it for years. Not me – I was extremely nervous about the simple tasks I was assigned: holding the camera bag, having charged batteries and lenses at the ready and crossing off the list of posed shots.

The wedding was gorgeous, and the pictures turned out great. Maybe I’ll post a couple after the bride and groom have had a chance to see them.

Today is going to be a busy day. I have a partial list started, but I’m sure we’ll add to it. I am feeling a little congested, and hoping that it’s just the half of a cocktail I had last night (I’m a total lightweight), or mild allergies from the changing fall weather. Poor Daniel – he will learn that his mother is a bit of a worry-wort – at the first signs of a sniffle I immediately think I’m getting swine flu… I’m loading up on vitamin C and Echinacea as I type this.

Right now I’m finishing up baby laundry – towels (those super cute hooded ones – there WILL be pictures!), bedding and some clothes for the first few days. I have a funny laundry story:

Yesterday, I spoke to my MIL on the phone. When I told her I was doing laundry, she recounted the fact that when Brian and his brother were babies, she was constantly losing their tiny little socks to that great, mysterious black hole where all lost socks go. She suggested that I use a lingerie bag for the socks to keep from losing them. Okay. Noted. I laughed at her cute story, then went about my day. Well, when I took a load of laundry out of the dryer, I was missing five little socks! Out of three pairs of socks, I only had ONE little white sock. I double-checked the dryer and washer – nope. They weren’t on the floor. I shook out some of the other clothes from that load – nothing! Bizarre! MIL was right! Eventually, after we got home from the wedding, I found another white sock wrapped in another item, so at least I have a pair to take. Still at large – two blue pairs.

I have no idea where/when my next post will be! Maybe the airport? Maybe L.A.? Maybe Seoul?

Baby sock next to Mommy sock (which is now pink since I washed it with the reds)

Baby sock next to Mommy sock (which is now pink since I washed it with the reds)

Responses

  1. how fun that your hubby got to shoot his first wedding!! I’m doing my first in October. so nervous!! can’t wait to see his pics. does he have a website?

  2. Have a great flight tomorrow morning!!! Be sure to stock up on jet lag meds!
    Cute sock story – I have one brand new sock for Alex that has never been worn, but it’s pair has been MIA for 8 months… frustrating. I love looking at how little baby’s clothes are – they are just so tiny!

  3. Oh my gosh, you leave TOMORROW! So exciting! I wish you luck on finishing up your list and laundry. Those blue socks will suddenly appear one day when you least expect it and in a weird place. It’s happened here.

    Can’t wait to see the next post. Wishing you well and safe traveling!

  4. Can’t wait to see wedding pix! Oh, socks. Where DO you go?
    YAY! Go to Korea and get that boy!

  5. My DH was really sick starting just a few days before we went to Korea. The night before he was terribly sick. We even had worries we’d have to postpone. Can you imagine? Keep pumping the Vit C, etc…and drink LOTS of fluids (even if that means you’ll be in the plane loo a million times…who cares). When you get to Korea…they are total FREAKS about possible cases of H1N1…mentions of quarantine were frequent. We had to fill out forms prior to landing and go through a line where a woman took our temperatures by scanning our necks with some machine. Fortunately, by then my DH was feeling a little better…and got through. Phew! They also will give you all kinds of hand sanitizing wipes (packs & packs & packs of them).

    We’ve had one sock so missing thus far. All other ones are accounted for…I think. Get ready for your laundry process to grow by leaps & bounds…even though these are little people we are bringing home…they create a lot of laundry. But…it is fun…and I LOVE SEEING TINY BABY CLOTHES. Way more fun to fold than our stuff, don’t you think?!

    Have a wonderful and safe trip. I’ll be thinking of you tomorrow morning. Bring lots to do (or sleep) on the flight there. Very different than the ride home. I’m soooo excited for you. CANNOT WAIT to follow your posts from Seoul. Tell us ALL about your trip. Photos, photos, photos…I hope!

  6. Can’t wait to hear more as you make the trip!

  7. You’re leaving sooooo soon!! How exciting!!!

    Cute story about the socks. So far we have no missing ones due to laundry issues… but, our guy prefers to be barefoot so we haven’t really washed that many. But, we have lost many a sock while out and about. Ugh.

  8. Wow…I made the blog. Safe travels to all three of you. See you at Phoenix Sky Harbor in four days! Love…MIL (aka Karen/Mom)

  9. Catherine, I cannot wait to read your next post…hope all goes well during the flight and you guys manage to sleep through most of it (yeah, right!). Good luck!


Leave a Reply

Categories

