Posted by: CatherineD | October 2, 2009

We’re Home!

We got home last night after a very long day. Daniel and Brian are asleep, so I have some time to blog.

Before we left Eastern, Dr. Kim (president of Eastern) said a prayer for Daniel. It was all in Korean, and although we didn’t understand the words, the moment was still very beautiful and emotional. We expressed our gratitude to Daniel’s foster mom again, she handed Daniel to me with tears running down both cheeks, then we got into the van to head to the airport.

Daniel cried most of Β the way to the airport on my lap (they don’t use car seats in Korea), then fell asleep.

He woke up crying when we were putting him in the carrier, and continued to cry for the next three hours in the airport. On the plane, he would cry anytime we sat down. As long as I was standing, holding him and bouncing, his sobs were gentler and quieter. When we were required to stay in our seats, the flight attendants offered to hold him and walk him up and down the aisles. As much as I didn’t like the idea of strangers calming my baby, it was nice to get a break from the crying. When the plane took off, he cried for a couple more hours, then finally fell asleep. We put him down in the bassinet they provided where he slept for the next six hours.

DSC07500

When he woke up, he was a brand new baby! Smiley, playful and giggly.

Don't worry, moms. He wasn't listening to music! They weren't even plugged in.

Don't worry, moms. He wasn't listening to music! They weren't even plugged in.

DSC07479

We had a lot of walking to do at the LA airport, and he slept through it all in the Beco carrier. On the short flight from LA to Phoenix, he was super playful and sweet. He LOVED flirting with the blonde flight attendants.

LOVE this face! His little triangle faux-hawk cracks me up.

LOVE this face! His little triangle faux-hawk cracks me up.

When we arrived in Phoenix, both sets of grandparents and one great-grandma were waiting with a balloon and welcome home sign for Daniel. He did great with everyone, and did not cry or seem ‘out of it’ at all. He seemed to enjoy being the center of attention and really hammed it up!

Finally home in Phoenix!

Finally home in Phoenix!

The Welcome Wagon

The Welcome Wagon

IMG_4355

With Grandma Sue

The first night home went fairly well. D had a bath, played, then a bottle and bedtime. We slept on a bunch of blankets on the floor in his room. His sleep was sporadic for the first few hours, but he finally went down for good at 3 a.m., and we didn’t get up again until 10 a.m.

Today was great. Little crying spells here and there, but for the most part he seems to be doing well. He sure does eat a lot! He slept in his crib for naps today, and he’s sleeping in there now! Here’s a cute pic from today.

Sweet potatoes, yum!

Sweet potatoes, yum!

I LOVE being a mom! I still can’t believe it. Thank you to everyone for following our journey and for all of the supportive comments. I have not opened Reader since we’ve been home, but I know I have a lot of catching up to do. I should probably get some sleep now, before D wakes up. πŸ˜‰

Responses

  1. Congratulations!! Welcome Home!! Daniel is just adorable – his little hawk is perfect!
    Go get some sleep and enjoy being a MOM!!
    Alex is very excited about his new friend – he is going to type a message next ok?

  2. ohjklfjskvghu i hymjio8b mi

    • Ha ha! That is so cute! Thanks for the message, Alex!

  3. (Oh, I love Alex’s message to his new friend Daniel!)

    So glad you’re home! Enjoy your son. Congrats!

  4. YEAH!!! You are home. I’m sorry your trip home was rough to start…but it sounds like that 6-hr nap for Daniel was just what he needed. Congrats on being a Mom & Dad. It is the best! Sleep, sleep, sleep.

    Daniel: you are a CUTIE! Love your hair…and smile.

  5. You made it! You guys look so fresh getting off the plane – what’s your secret?!
    He’s adorable. Congratulations and enjoy the first days home!

  6. Yay!!!!! Tough trip, but it got so much better. That’s amazing. I’m so excited for you!!!! I wish I was there in person.

  7. SO EXCITING!!! welcome home baby D! can’t wait to hear about your future adventures. πŸ™‚

  8. What a beautiful angel you have! I love the photo of Daniel with the headphones on the plane. Adorable! So glad you guys are settling in well and that Daniel seems to be doing great! Congrats on being a MOM!

  9. I am so excited for your family. The pictures are adorable. I am glad you let me know your blog address so i can read all about your trip and exciting news along the way. It is great that he is adjusting so well. I can’t wait to meet him!

  10. Catherine it’s been wonderful reading about your journey home. I got tears in my eyes seeing you carrying D in the airport. You are a mother! Congratulations on your beautiful addition to your family. He is darling.

    P.S. if you would like to read the translation to Dr. Kim’s prayer we’ve got it here http://lifeinthehammerhome.blogspot.com/2009/06/dr-kims-prayer.html

    • Kristin – thank you so much for this! It’s awesome!

  11. So excited for you – his smile continues to communicate so much. I hope you remember every detail of this amazing time! I am sending you positive energy.

  12. Congratulations! Being a mom is the best! Wait ’til he says “Momma” You’ll melt! : )

  13. WHY are some of your posts not showing up in my reader!? Ugh. Anyway….

    Welcome home! (A few days late!) I’ve been thinking of you guys!

    Daniel is such a cutie! I can’t wait to hear how you all settle in.

    πŸ™‚

  14. Congratulations!!! What an absolutely adorable baby boy. I’m so happy your family is home together!

  15. Congratulations!! I am just getting caught up and wow – you have been busy! So very happy for you!

  16. Perfect, just perfect.

    Our new little grandson is a precious gift. New Momma and Daddy are doing great! Hooray for the three of them. Love…Mom

  17. So I know you are probably exhausted. But WE NEED MORE PICTURES!!!!! πŸ™‚ You don’t have to write anything, just send pics. Seriously, I hope you all are well. Thinking of you all the time.

  18. You are a beautiful family! Congrats on having your son home!


Leave a Reply

Categories

