Posted by: CatherineD | October 30, 2009

Tidbits

Just some random tidbits…

  • I love the way D’s breath still smelled like strawberries for much of the day after his breakfast of oatmeal and strawberries.
  • My AMAZING sister completed the last leg of a six-day race across the Sahara Desert today (which, I think, is tomorrow in Egypt). I can’t wait to see her pictures and hear her stories!
  • It’s been four weeks now since D’s come home, and I feel like we’ve made so much progress:
    • I’m finally happy with the consistency of D’s poop. Not too soft, not too hard (just one of many things I NEVER thought I would say).
    • We’ve had a couple days of really good sleep – at night AND naps – which results in a happy baby and a happy Mommy.
    • We’ve developed a system that seems to prevent meltdowns at mealtime: 1. ALWAYS have some type of finger food available. 2. Since D wants to feed himself with the spoon, I will put food on it, then give it to him and help guide it into his mouth. When he’s ready for more, he slams places the spoon onto the table (or sometimes throws it at me or the floor).
    • He is getting more and more snuggly and will actually lay his head back on me when I’m reading a book to him. This is something he would only do for a bottle in the past.
    • His favorite book by far is Brown Bear Brown Bear, What Do You See? by Eric Carle. I read it in rhythm, and he bounces along and even helps turn pages.

Here are some pics of him from today wearing the very first outfit we bought (pre-referral). I apologize for the quality as they were taken with my phone.

 

constitution

Today's "light" reading

 

tiedye

Waking from morning nap

sleeping tiedye

Afternoon nap... still sleeping. I wanted to see if I could actually get one without waking him up! He slept for at least another hour!

And another pic I love…

DSC_0143

Responses

  1. Oh, such a sweet photo of Daniel napping! I also love his choice of reading material. Ya know what I call the Constitution – “the words we live by” – a very important document so I approve.

    OK, your sister (yes, amazing) sounds like she’d get along very well with my brother who is an adventure racer and does things like this all the time.

  2. I think you might have a future lawyer on your hands, reading the Constitution at this very early age! The outfits are too cute – the tie-dye and the striped shirt.

  3. So, so cute!
    And I love all these things you’re figuring out! Each step makes you feel more and more confident as a mama.

  4. Love that last shot… so cute! And I think it’s hysterical that he’s hanging by his booster seat there… is that a normal occurrence?! 😉

  5. He is such a doll! It’s so wonderful when things start to click and you develop a routine with helpful tricks along the way. And I hope you do a post about your sister’s race – wow, that sounds amazing!

  6. Kelly and Kelly – I thought you would approve of his choice in reading materials!

    Christine – Actually, yes, it is a very normal occurrence to hang by the booster seat. This boy LOVES to eat!

    Kris – Once I have some details, I’ll post about my sister’s race.

  7. I can recite “Brown Bear, Brown Bear” in my sleep, and we often interject with our own sightings throughout the day. 🙂 I also approve of the Constitution for “light” reading — it is widely known amongst my friends that James Madision is my historical boyfriend.

    What a cutie — seriously — this little guy is going to break hearts.

  8. I hear you on the poop thing – who would have ever thought….
    I adore the picture of Daniel sleeping…


Leave a Reply

Categories

