Posted by: CatherineD | November 5, 2009

Excuses, excuses

I realize that I have not written a decent post in a long time. I’m just soooo tired! I know… waah waah waah. When Daniel’s napping, I have to choose between napping, cleaning, watching tv or blogging. Unfortunately, cleaning and blogging have been losing.

I have a lot of catching up to do. I will be posting on our agency’s Chusok celebration (waiting for pics from my FIL) and Halloween (waiting for permission from neighbors to post pics) in the coming days.

Things are going well with our little family of three. Daniel keeps me laughing all day long – maybe that’s why I’m so tired!

Seriously, though, I think I just need to take better care of myself. Since D’s been home, I haven’t been eating well, sleeping well (hmmm… wonder why?) or exercising regularly. So… I know what I need to do, and I think I’ll start by limiting my intake of post-Halloween candy. I don’t know why I’m admitting this, but I’ve gotten into the habit of grabbing a little mini Butterfinger on my way back to bed each time I have to get up with D. This can be up to five times per night. Ugh… Like I said, I know where the problem lies, and I intend to get back on the right track.

I can’t stop yawning as I type this. I am proud to say that I have not had one Butterfinger today!

So, that’s the story of why my blogging has been neglected. I really miss my blog buddies, and I promise I will be back soon. Thank you, Elizabeth, for your recent post and for reminding me again why I blog.

Some random Daniel photos for your viewing pleasure (I hope I haven’t posted these before)…

DSC_0137

 

DSC_0054

This toy used to be mine!

 

 

 

Responses

  1. You’re a brand new mama – why WOULDN’T you be tired?? I can understand why blogging falls off your to-do list when you have very little you time 🙂

    These photos are great (no you haven’t posted them yet!). In the first one he looks like he’s thinking “gosh, mom, with the camera again?” I think I had that same toy too when I was little!

  2. I had that same car/toy when I was a child also. I suspect it may still be in my parents’ basement…but I suspect it would be VERY beat up by now (after 3 children)…I remember that horn having a hole in it.

    I hear you on the being tired and not taking great care of yourself. I think we new mamas spend all our energy on our little ones…and hardly any on ourselves. If it weren’t for getting outside for walks/stroller rides, I probably wouldn’t be getting any exercise either. I’ve been to yoga only once since we came home from Korea. I used to go at least once/week. How terrible is that? I blame it on the class schedule…not working with nap time, food time, or bed time. While this is true, I’m sure I could make something work…if I really tried.

    I’d say napping is the best thing for you to do while Daniel is napping…you need your rest. Don’t worry about the rest. My dust & dustbunnies are still waiting for me. 😉

    Cute pictures…sweet boy!

  3. Catherine I was in the exact same place when X came home. It was hard to do anything other than take care of him. I didn’t eat well either. It will eventually balance out. It’s great you are having fun with him. Love the pictures.

  4. These aren’t excuses – they’re real life! You’re a new mama, and most new mamas don’t have time on their hands for things like blogging. We miss you, but we know you aren’t around so much for very good reason – that little cutie!

  5. Oh, you guys are THE BEST! I will be back soon!!!

    • You inspired me with this post! I actually went to yoga yesterday morning. Amazing. I know I won’t go nearly as often as I used to…but it really did feel good. Thank you. Do something nice for yourself today. Even if it is just taking a bath for 15 min, a solo walk around the block, or something quick like that.

  6. I’m still adjusting – and it has been over 9 months since Alex is home! It does get a lot better though. Keep smiling and be sure to make a little time for yourself!

  7. Hang in there mama – your days sound ve-e-e-ry similar to my own. And I’ve been at this for over a year! Don’t feel bad – take care of yourself first!!! And there is no shame in the butterfingers. Candy makes it all ok 🙂

  8. When I was getting up so often for the first few months with Jaden, I would eat cookies — lots of them. I got used to a 24-hour eating schedule, which really is far from ideal. But, do you know what else is far from ideal? Only getting 3 hours of sleep in any given stretch. Do whatever you have to do until you’ve got a solid sleeper on your hands.

    Thanks for your honesty — I think most new moms experience a serious blow in the self-esteem/self-care category.

  9. I’m a little late to the party here… but I second everyone else. This is a HUGE adjustment… for everyone. Do what you gotta do, I’m still struggling to find the balance most days. We fit in two short walks with the dogs most days and that’s all I need right now. It doesn’t need to be much, just try to get started, don’t try to overhaul everything at once. It’s just not realistic for a new mama!

    And you know what?! It sounds like (and looks like) you are doing a WONDERFUL job keeping Daniel happy – so pat yourself on the back mama! It will get easier to fit “you” time in. (And BTW – always go for the nap, sleep is hugely important!)


Leave a Reply

Categories

