Posted by: CatherineD | December 29, 2009

Holiday Mish Mosh

In our household, we celebrate Chanukah and Christmas – or Chrismukah, to some. This year, it was all about family, presents and great food. Next year, since D will be talking, I’d like to incorporate a history/culture lesson into the season, as well as all year round. How I’m going to do this – haven’t the foggiest – but I have a whole year to figure it out, right? I know there are some other inter-faith families out there, so feel free to share ideas that have worked for you.

We got together with Brian’s family in Tucson to celebrate Chanukah with a wonderful dinner and gift exchange (the adults drew names, and everyone gave gifts to the kids).

I love this picture of Baby T with Grammy and Grampy

Funny how D and Grammy have the exact same expression

Cousins!

Playing on the golf course

Opening a gift from Great-Grandma Betty

On Christmas Eve, my parents, sister and grandma came over to our house for tortilla soup. D also got one of his presents – a tent from Mommy and Daddy.

"Camping out" with Grandpa

Where's Daniel?

We got up early Christmas morning and spent the day at my parents’ house. As my sister pointed out, when it comes to being spoiled, this little boy doesn’t have a chance. On my side of the family, he is our only child, the only grandchild and the only nephew!

Obviously, this tree doesn't have to worry about abuse from a toddler or naughty cat.

With Auntie Deb

Brian opened a box of oranges from my parents. Oh, and there was also a gift card for a massage at the bottom. (Gotta love the Scooby Doo t-shirt)

Holy moly! That's a lot of loot!

This ball turned out to be the favorite - check out the cool blocks in the background from Auntie Deb!

Mommy's favorite gifts. I'm a lucky girl.

Responses

  1. OK, first of all, Daniel gets cuter and cuter and cuter every time we see him! I am loving him in the polar bear pj’s – where might I purchase that adorable ensemble?? The photo where he is lying amidst all the presents? OMG, so cute!

    By the way, as you know, we also have the Christmakuh thing going on in our house so I think we should try to figure things out together for next year 🙂

    Ya know what else we have in common? We also had tortilla soup for Christmas Eve this year! Yum.

    • I think my mom got the PJs at Costco.

      Yes, I’m all for figuring things out together!

      Yaay for tortilla soup!

  2. I’m with Kelly – he is SOOOO cute and chubby!
    I adore the photo of him literally rolling around in his loot.
    Chrismakuh… crack me up!

  3. Looks like so much fun! That pic in the loot is hysterical and the last one is so sweet. Aren’t the holidays so much fun now with a little one involved?

  4. Lots of holiday celebrations!
    We have that “Who?” book too (a gift for D for Christmas from a friend’s mom).
    Our D also has a similar tunnel thing. Fun!
    I really love the photo of him lying totally wiped out in his loot. Phew! The holidays are totally exhausting!

  5. Great photos!! Holy Moly – what a HAUL! Go Daniel!! Is it wrong we put a three gift limit on our relatives?!

    • I think setting a limit is a great idea, and one that we should definitely consider for the next holiday. Especially with his December 2 birthday AND Chanukah… it’s way too much.

  6. Groovy tent! I was looking for one for Alex but couldn’t find what I was looking for.
    It is so weird seing Daniel sitting on grass during the holidays – we have so much snow!


Leave a Reply

Categories

