Posted by: CatherineD | January 2, 2010

New Years Eve Greekfest

Today, Daniel is 13 months old! I will do a proper 13-month update later today or tomorrow, but for now I wanted to post pics from our News Years fete at Grandma’s house. The decorations were amazing – I believe the credit goes to Brian’s uncle and cousin, and maybe Grandma Betty, too? The costumes were fabulous, too, as was the food.  On the menu was pita, gyro meat (lamb and chicken), tsaziki (sp?), hummus, this fabulous rice dish with raisins and pine nuts, and another tomato (and maybe eggplant?) dish that I didn’t catch the name of.

Brian was Zeus, I was Hera (Zeus’ wife AND older sister – yikes), and D was our son Hephaestus, the god of technology (one of his symbols is a hammer, which of course was high-tech back in the day!).

The beautiful and amazing hostess (far right) and her sisters.

Greek-a-boo with Grampy

Maybe in Greece, the grandparents used to eat their grandkids?

The greeklings admiring the Greek statue... we seriously have some artistic talent in this family!

Grammy, B's brother and family, D, Grampy

Grecian Mamas

Responses

  1. How fun is that?! You guys look fabulous, and I have to say that Daniel looks *quite* handsome wearing a golden crown 🙂

  2. Wow! What a fun family! You guys look great in your costumes. That picture of D and his grandpa is so sweet.

  3. Oh wow…this post had me laughing out loud. I was dying seeing Daniel in his costume. How did you get him to leave that crown on?? I absolutely LOVE your costumes. Daniel…you are simply the cutest little Greek God of Technology I have ever seen!

    • If we can distract him, he usually leaves hats on. This crown eventually had to come off because I noticed it was making indentations in his little forehead!

  4. Wow – your costumes are AMAZING!!! I love all the details of this party… EEK! Hmmm… I’m itching for another party to throw now…

  5. OH MY!! You guys look FABULOUS!! Looks like a lot of fun!

  6. i’m speechless. So awesome… how does one land an invite for next year? 😉

  7. This party looks so fun! I love how everyone gets so into it with the costumes and decorations! You look beautiful – love the dress and the hair do! And don’t get me started on how ridiculously cute Daniel is in that costume!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

