Posted by: CatherineD | January 17, 2010

My Life as a Mom

This post is inspired by the movie My Life as a Dog. I watched it on Netfl*x last night while Brian was out with “the boys” and Daniel was fast asleep. If you haven’t seen it, I highly recommend it. I’ll try not to give too much of it away.

What a delightful movie. That’s a word I don’t use often (if ever – but I should!), but no other word seems to properly describe this flick. The underlying story is really kinda sad (told in a beautifully heartwarming way), and my life in no way parallels that part of it. The part that resonated with me is the little village where the entire population is pretty much nuts. It was kind of like a town full of people with toddler mentality. Each person had this incredible zest for life, a colorful, creative imagination, they didn’t take anything too seriously, and they seemed to love each other and care for each other unconditionally. The whole town was just plain silly. How could that be bad?

It made me think about these last three and a half months of my life as a mom. There is a whole lotta silliness in my life that wasn’t there before. Not that Brian and I ever needed an excuse to be silly, but having D in our lives has added a whole new dimension of fun. Now, we can make motorboat sounds in the bookstore and play racecar with the shopping cart in the grocery store without scaring the other customers. Now, a drink coaster is no longer a coaster, but a frisbee, a teether, a circle and a study in texture and color. A wire wisk is no longer a kitchen utensil but a versatile percussion instrument. And, a cardboard box no longer goes straight to the recycling bin. It turns into a rocket, a tunnel, a car, or in this case – a little cottage.

Every magazine picture tells a colorful story, every baby on tv is a new friend to squeal at, ambient music in places of business and commercial jingles are a great excuse to sing and dance. Every rock and blade of grass must be touched and tasted. Every Daddy and Grandpa is a potential jungle gym.

Climbing on Grampy

Every sneeze is a really funny joke. Every step is the beginning of a new dance, march or game of chase. Every chore is more fun with a song.

Having D around reminds me of all the wonderful, beautiful and silly things that make up life.

Here are just a few things that Daniel has taught me:

Not to take myself too seriously.

Smile more.

Laugh more.

Make funny faces whenever possible.

Just have FUN.

Daniel – thank you for being you. Thank you for the giggles and dances. Thank you for the smiles, hugs and kisses. Thank you for making me a mommy. I love you more than you know.

Sharing a smile with Grammy and Grampy

Responses

  1. Catherine, this is a *beautiful* reflection. Thank you for sharing it with all of us! I know exactly how you feel, but you put it so well.

  2. Oh, so sweet! I love this post!

  3. Wow – this is amazingly beautiful. I know exactly what you mean, but never would have gotten it written *just right.* You, my friend, have… awesome!

  4. Daniel sounds like a wonderful teacher. I know our little D is great at pointing out things I’ve never noticed before……at least not in the same way. Great post. I completely agree…life with a little one is a daily dose of wonderful!

  5. whoa. i’m particularly sensitive today and THIS nudged me right into tears. good ones.

    great ones.

    thank you, catherine. you did get it just right.

  6. Great post!

    I love that movie!! It’s been years since I saw it but it’s so touching and the little boy is so sweet.

  7. I love this post Catherine. It is amazing how children change our perspectives on the world around us for the better. I don’t know how you did it, but you phrased it so, so well.

  8. I love this post so much, Catherine. Really love it. I agree with everyone else, you just put it into words so well and I think it’s beautiful how Daniel has changed your perspective and let you see new things in just the few months he’s been home. I bet sometimes you wonder who needs who more 🙂

  9. Awww… what a wonderful post! Having a child in your life really does bring about a whole new type of fun.


Leave a Reply

Categories

