Posted by: CatherineD | March 14, 2010

What a weekend!

This weekend was busy, but oh so fun! Perfect weather, delicious food and amazing people to share it with.

On Saturday, we joined my parents and grandma at the Arizona Aloha Festival. I always look forward to it, and it’s probably one of my biggest pig-out days every year.

Doesn't he look like he would fit right in at a retirement community in Florida?

Now I guess I have to confess what I ate. Kahlua pig, teriyaki chicken, lomi salmon (my favorite), some kind of pork wrapped in a taro leaf, kimchee, and lots of rice. Oh, and shave ice with ice cream for dessert! Of course, I shared all of this (okay, some of it) with Brian and Daniel. Hawaiian food is the perfect mix of so many yummy types of cuisine.

This year was even more awesome because we met up with a friend who is in town visiting from Calgary, and we got to meet her beautiful little girl. AND, we got to see my cousin’s son (I guess that makes him my 2nd cousin?) perform.

Michael

Today, we met Brian’s parents at the Scottsdale Art Festival. We ate lunch, listened to live music and admired all of the artisan’s wares. Unfortunately (or fortunately), we all left empty-handed. Lots of beautiful things; just didn’t see anything we HAD to have.

Studying Grampy

Oh, and look who we happened to “bump” into on our way home today! Some of you may recognize her…

Brian, Daniel and I met Kelly and her mom at the airport for a quick visit before their flights departed. I recognized her right away, and although we have never met in person, I felt as if we had known each other for a very long time. I’m looking forward to hanging out again some day – Daniel is so excited to meet Max!

As this weekend comes to a close, I’m reminded of how fortunate I am to have so many wonderful friends and family in my life.

Responses

  1. Sounds like a *great* weekend! And so sunny (we’ve had torrential rain so I am very jealous)!! And you got to meet Kelly! And her mom!! FUN!

    PS- I agree, Hawaiian food *is* yummy… I’m not sure I would have shared! 😉

  2. Looks like an awesome weekend.

    Yay for meeting the awesome Kelly!

  3. Sounds like a wonderful weekend filled with delicious food and fun! It’s so awesome that you got to meet Kelly, yay!

  4. What a fun weekend! So cool you got to meet Kelly too!

  5. I let out a little squee at the sight of you and Kelly! How fun is that?! D looks like a true Korean-Hawaiian in his adorable little outfit. Glad you had such a fun time!

  6. What a fun-packed weekend! I LOVE that first photo of Daniel in his “retirement” garb, and the one of you two with the LOVE sculpture. Beautiful.
    How fun that you got to meet Kelly! Weird how little by little, our blog worlds are colliding 🙂

  7. How fun! So cool that you met Kelly and her mom also. Your little guy is super-cute!

  8. Yay! I love that Brian actually captured Daniel waving in this shot! It was SO fun to meet all three of you yesterday even if it was only for a short visit. Daniel is the cutest, happiest baby – you guys are obviously doing a wonderful job being his parents 🙂 I really hope that we get to hang out again some day (hopefully with Max) for a longer, more relaxed visit. Thanks again for coming to the airport – you guys are awesome!

  9. Yeah! How awesome that you and Kelly got to meet in person!

    What a great weekend! Love Daniel’s outfit!!!!

  10. Oh, Daniel’s outfit is just adorable!!! Looks like such a fun weekend! We are making our first trip to Hawaii this summer and I cannot wait to go!!!

  11. LOVE his retirement outfit…but it matches far too well…I mean they aren’t different plaids or something. 😉

    I did a TOTAL double-take when I was zipping down through the pictures and saw KELLY there with you! How fun!! I hope our blog worlds keep intersecting here. So cool.

  12. His outfit cracks me up! Love a good fest with good food. And how fun to meet Kelly.


Leave a Reply

Categories

