Posted by: CatherineD | March 22, 2010

happy birthday to me!

Today is my 36th birthday. Wow… thirty-six years is a long time! The fact that I am now in my “upper thirties” doesn’t bother me at all. It’s just weird. Most of the time, I don’t even feel like a grown-up yet.

My mother-in-law said that 36 was her best year. I have no doubt that it will be among the best for me, too. It’s already off to a great start.

Anyway, we celebrated with a family get-together on Saturday, but that will be another post for another day.

In honor of MY day, I scanned a few old photos to share. I considered making the title “The Good, the Bad and the Ugly.” There are definitely a few that are not so flattering, but hilarious nonetheless.

I had so much fun gathering these pics that I encourage challenge all of you, my bloggy friends, to post your “Best of the Worst.” We all had an awkward phase (most of us, anyway). And for those of you that didn’t, we don’t wanna hear about it!

I love this pic mostly because of my mom’s dress. And check out my dad’s groovy pants in the background!

I think I was one here.

Loved my dolls and my hair in curlers! Check out Hamburglar behind me! I wish I still had him!

I always felt glamorous in my “fur” coat.

I love this one for so many reasons (from the old-school toys to the overflowing magazine rack), but it’s mainly forΒ Olive and Daniel, from a fellow recovering crack addict. Just say no, kids.

And the awkwardness begins…

All I can say is WOW.

Nice glasses. So fancy!

The beginning of the Big Hair Years (although some might say it was starting to happen in the pic above). I’ll never understand why this type of portrait was popular.

More big hair…

Senior potrait. I’d love to say that this was the end of big hair for me, but I admit that I kept it going into the first couple of college years.

So, I’m 36. I can’t wait to see what the rest of the year has in store for me!

Responses

  1. OMG πŸ˜‰
    I stumbled upon your post and I must say: wow! These pics have so much in common with the ones that I’ve got flying around somewhere. My sister was really into the BIG hair, so one day she and her friend dragged me to a hairstylist (when I was about 8 or 9 years old) and they dressed me up all 80s and took me to a photo booth, where this moment was then “immortalized”.
    Gotta go look for that photo!
    Thanks and have a nice one,
    Michaela πŸ™‚

  2. Oops! I got so carried away, I totally forgot this:
    Happy birthday! πŸ˜‰

  3. Happy Birthday!!! Love all of the pictures:)

  4. Happy Birthday!!
    Love the trip down memory lane. Since I too will be 36 this year, I have many similar photos.

  5. Happy Birthday my dear friend….I hope 36 is a wonderful year for you!

    With love,
    Alaina

  6. Happy Birthday! Love the old photos. I have some similar awkward ones somewhere. They haven’t been scanned in yet though. Another project to declutter!

  7. Happy Birthday!!!

    I love all the old pictures! I totally rocked the big hair look as well, so I appreciate those the most. πŸ˜‰ I’ve got all sorts of similarly embarrassing photos at my parents house… it’s a shame that’s so far away…

    Here’s hoping you have a *great* year!

  8. Happy Birthday! I love the old photos. Oh the hair…awesome, just awesome.

  9. First off, happy birthday.
    Secondly, I applaud your courage. I LOVE how in the pink coat picture, your legs are l-o-o-o-ong!!! πŸ™‚
    And this is perfect timing… check my blog later today.

  10. Oh…I have some TOTAL doozies I could share…and I just might take you up on the offer. I rocked the big permed hair look…and am proud of it. πŸ˜‰

    Love the photo of you & your mommy…so sweet!

  11. Happy birthday to you! I love your photos. Know that you are not alone with the big hair. πŸ™‚ In that first photo, I can really see the resemblance you have to your mom.

  12. Happy Birthday Friend! Today is my SIL’s bday too. My first glance at some of these photos made me think they were ME, but a milisecond later I realized that they were in fact of you. Amazing how I have the same pictures and the same hair styles.

    I hope your day is FABULOUS!!!!

  13. OMG, I LOVE the big hair photos. I only WISHED I could have done that to my hair in the 1980s, I’m sure I tried but my hair wouldn’t do it. That, or I didn’t use enough product to make it work.

    Happy birthday to you! I’m at the tail end of my 36th year and I can tell you that it was indeed a good one. Enjoy your birthday today!

  14. Happy Bday!

  15. happy happy belated birthday!! i LOVE the photos. i think my favorite one is of you in the light blue ruffled/lace dress. as a fellow 36 year old these photos are a hoot! hope you had a fabulous day!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

