Posted by: CatherineD | April 17, 2010

What We’ve Been Up To

I realize that I haven’t posted anything substantial for quite some time, and the reason is simply that I just. didn’t. feel. like. it. I still think of ideas for blog posts every day, but lately I just couldn’t bring myself to sit at the computer for any length of time.

To my blog friends: I miss you, and I am slowly getting caught up – again. Looking at the unread items in my reader is really kinda overwhelming. I may not read all the past posts, but I will try to stay current with new ones. Gotta create some kind of blog-reading/blogging schedule, or it just won’t get done.

Here’s a summary of what we’ve been up to:

  • I went through about a two-week phase of being an extreme couch potato (during D’s naps and after bedtime, of course). In that time, I discovered RuPaul’s Drag Race on the Logo channel. It’s a fabulous mix of pageantry, talent show and makeovers – all with a group of drag queen divas competing for the ultimate prize. So much attitude, and so much FUN! I’ve added it to my list of recorded shows. Thank goodness I pulled myself out of the couch potato phase. I couldn’t figure out why I had zero energy and was gaining weight… duh!
  • We had a great Easter weekend! Community egg hunt/carnival on Saturday, then lunch at Grandma and Grandpa’s on Sunday. My mom was so funny. She had three plastic eggs filled with goodies which she hid in plain sight around her living room. Each time D would put one in his basket then go looking for more, my mom would steal the one in the basket and re-hide it. Those three eggs kept him very busy! I don’t think that sneaky trick will work next year.

Found two eggs! Daddy may have helped a little.

Not a fan of the giant bunny

Going on an egg hunt

  • We just started swimming lessons with our friends T & T, and we’ve had two classes so far. D loves to splash splash splash!

My blog friend Emily is giving away an awesome apron that I really want, and one of the ways to enter the drawing is to post a link to a favorite recipe. So, I’m linking to this mushroom, onion and basil pizza.  Daniel loves it, and Brian said that it’s quite possibly the best pizza he’s ever had.

Isn’t the apron just so super cute?

Responses

  1. Yay! Glad to have you back! Even though everyone needs a little couch potato time.
    And I *SO* get not feeling like blogging. Hence my giving up on daily posts. What a huge load off. I think tomorrow will be my first day off 🙂
    And I LOVE the three-egg trick. Hilarious.

  2. Oh man, I so hear you on the “just didn’t feel like it” thing.

    We’re still hiding plastic Easter eggs around here. No candy, but it’s still a blast to find Cheez*its in em!

    I love the shot of D with the Easter bunny… poor guy!

  3. I love the story of your mom re-hiding the already-found eggs! Too cute!

    I think sometimes you’ve just got to have the blogging mojo. If it’s not there, don’t force it! We’ll still be here when you’re reading to write again!

  4. Enjoy the couch, we all need a little vacation once in a while. Hey we have the same Elmo basket here. Swim lessons are so great for bonding. Colin took them with his dad and loved every minute of it. Enjoy!

  5. Sometimes you just need the couch.
    Welcome back!

  6. Everyone needs a break from blogging and from reading blogs now & then. I know I do. I’ve been off the charts for a bit, but am back today (my day off from work…which means I actually have time to do this).

    That bunny looked a tad scary…no wonder Daniel wasn’t a big fan. I LOVE his t-shirt with the car/truck (“woody”) on it w/ the surfboard on top. CUTE. We are starting to be in need of short-sleeves and eventually shorts here. We have NO shorts in the house for Dylan right now…if you can believe that. So not needed in the winter here.

    I want to take D to swimming lessons…but so far haven’t had luck finding the class we need on a Wednesday at the right time (my day off). Now that we are on a 1-nap schedule, this might open up some more opportunities, so I need to look again. FUN!

  7. We are doing swimming too – but I must admit, D looks like he is enjoying it way more!
    I hear ya on the blogging – so much to do, so little time…


Leave a Reply

Categories

