Posted by: CatherineD | May 9, 2010

Mothers Day

Today was my first Mothers Day with Daniel. Wow, what a day…

First of all, Brian got up with D and fed him breakfast, letting me sleep in until 8 a.m. Then, he blew me away by surprising me with a beautiful ring and bracelet. My hands are in desperate need of a manicure, so I recruited a miniature model for the photo.

After that fun surprise, the three of us took a nice walk around the neighborhood, stopping to play at a playground and run through the sprinklers.

Later, we met family (B’s parents, grandma and brother’s family; my parents and grandma) in Scottsdale at Café ZuZu for a yummy brunch. I had a guava mimosa, veggie omelet and a side of cheesy grits. B had croque madame and a side of donut holes with a raspberry dipping sauce (his combo cracks me up, but it’s so very Brian!). They also had a make-your-own bloody mary bar that some of the family enjoyed. I want to go back again just to try that!

At the restaurant, the moms got gifts. I gave everyone a mini-scrapbook filled with pics of them with Daniel (I was pleased with how they turned out, but I completely forgot to take pictures). I got two cards (a serious one that made me cry and a funny one) from my parents, along with this awesome coffee cup (which also made me cry).

This cute shirt was from my in-laws and B’s grandma.

And this tote is from B’s brother and his wife. She was so sweet to remember that I admired hers at our last family event. She uses it as an on-the-go diapering station. I may use it for that, too, or it might be perfect to tote my scrapbooking supplies around.

After brunch, we took the kids to play at a splash pad in an outdoor shopping center. Luckily, we had an extra change of clothes and a towel in the car. These are my favorite shots of D and his cousin L.

Last year on Mothers Day, we had just completed our home study. As we celebrated the moms in our lives, I remember wondering if it would be my turn the next year.

And it was. Lucky me!

Being silly after a fun day.

Responses

  1. It sounds like a beautiful day! And that brunch sounds divine!

  2. Happy 1st Mother’s Day! Sounds like a perfect way of celebrating.

  3. Sounds like you had a wonderful 1st Mother’s Day!

  4. Wow, what a wonderful day! Btw, we love splash pads here too!

  5. Wow, sounds like a wonderful day! I love the jewelry – and the model cracks me up! – and oh, that tote bag would be perfect for my knitting! Super-cute.

  6. Wow, you’ve come a long way since last year! And what a HAUL! Love the jewelry

  7. A guava mimosa, bloody mary bar, and a splash pad – I think Kyle and I need to take a road trip and visit you and D:-) Happy 1st Mother’s Day!

  8. sounds like a wonderful day — and love your new jewels!!!

  9. Happy first mother’s day! And your boys did very well – beautiful jewels! And brunch sounds yummy!

  10. What a wonderful first mother’s day Catherine! You deserve it. I just love that last photo of you and Daniel being silly.

  11. happy mother’s day! your ring and bracelet are beautiful! i need a manicure too, sigh. i also love the splash pad pictures! sounds like you had a really wonderful day!

  12. Happy Mother’s Day. (I’m behind on blog reading…in case you hadn’t noticed.)
    LOVE all your gifts. That ring is beautiful!
    LOVE the smiley shots of D. CUTE CUTE CUTE!


Leave a Reply

Categories

