Posted by: CatherineD | August 7, 2010

Rainy Morning

Our day started around 6 a.m. when Daniel decided it was time to wake up. Normally on a Saturday, I’ll nudge Brian to get up with him so I can sleep in. But for some reason, today I was ready to wake up anyway.

The rain was coming down at a steady pace and collecting in the dump truck on the patio. We watched excitedly through the back door as it bounced off the cement and formed puddles. I pointed and said, “rain” while D patted the glass exclaiming, “da (everything’s “da” or “brrrr” these days)!” Rain is a very exciting event in the desert. This time of year is considered our “monsoon” season.

I decided to let D go out in his bare feet and pajamas to play in the rain. After all, we don’t get outside to play very often on these 110+ degree days. The rain had cooled off the patio to a perfect 78.

He splashed in the water that had collected atop his play table, and he stomped in the puddles. After he was sufficiently soaked and starting to shiver, I told him it was time to go inside. He vigorously shook his head no in opposition, so I picked him up, literally kicking and screaming, and took him inside to dry off and change.

Here he is looking wistfully out the back door.

And after throwing a full sippy cup at me and being scolded. Apparently, it’s hilarious when Mommy’s mad. [Sigh]

We’ve had a busy summer, and I have some catching up to do. Posts to come of 4th of July, Nana’s 90th birthday party and our trip to Wisconsin.

Responses

  1. Hope to see more updates soon. Oh I have been in AZ for Monsoon season. Fun!

  2. I’ve missed you guys! Love the playing in the rain. Don’t love the laughing when mama’s mad 😦

  3. Ooooh, I bet rain is a rare treat out there. How fun for both of you!

    Little D is totally into throwing things these days (cups, food, toys, etc…)…and it makes this mama a little bit nutty (and mad). I tell myself: deep breaths and try not to over-react. Cannot say I’m always so good at it.

    Missed you! Looking forward to hearing more soon.

  4. Love a good rainy day – especially if it is warm enough to be outside a bit. It sounds fun – minus the tantrum… we get those quite a bit around here.

  5. We missed you guys! Gotta love a summer rain to cool things down. Look forward to your updates!


Leave a Reply

Categories

