Posted by: CatherineD | September 25, 2010

How time flies

The gaps between my posts seem to be getting longer each time! It’s been more than a month since I sat and had a good whine (with wine). I wanted to thank everyone for the supportive comments on that post. It’s always so nice to know that I am not alone.

Things have gotten SO much better. Brian and I drove up north to Flagstaff that weekend while Daniel stayed with my parents, and I think that little vacation was exactly what everyone needed. We had a great time, just the two of us, and D had a blast getting spoiled by Grandma and Grandpa. Since then, things have been great. I am really liking D’s current phase. Still very stubborn, but he seems to be responding better to instructions and correction. Also, he’s gotten more cuddly, which is the best. He will take frequent breaks from whatever he is doing to run full speed (grinning from ear to ear) into our legs for a hug and a snuggle.

I just realized that we received our travel call a year ago yesterday. It was fun re-reading the posts from then and remembering all the crazy emotions I was feeling. I can’t believe it’s been a year!

Tonight after dinner, the three of us sat in the family room – B on the couch watching the football game, me sitting on the floor leaning against the couch, and D busily transporting toys back and forth between us and the coffee table – and I had a “moment.” Not yet realizing that it had been a year since our travel call, with tears in my eyes, I looked at B and said, “This is exactly what we wanted.” I’m still smiling just thinking about it.

Here are some pics from our trip up North.

And one of the pictures of D we received with our last update (at 9 months).

Life is good.

Responses

  1. I’m so glad things have gotten better!! Phew! And a gettaway – perfect! Sometimes we all just need a breather. And a year ago? Wow! I hear you about having moments – whenever I look at Alex’s referral pictures I tend to tear up – such emotions held up in what that picture meant – and still means to us.

  2. Aww, this post made me smile! I’m glad to hear things are better. We all have those tough times and sometimes a little getaway is the perfect solution. It looks like you had a beautiful weekend for it. Also, it’s amazing how time flies! I can’t believe it was a year ago you received your travel call, wow! And what a lovely moment you had with your boys – love it!

  3. Hey lady! Glad to hear from you again. Your getaway sounds lovely and refreshing. Much deserved.
    A year ago? My goodness, time flies!

  4. Life is good. I agree, my friend.
    I’ve had some breath-taking, eye-opening moments too…sometimes I cannot believe it. Maybe it has to do with being home for a year now…as a family of 3.
    So real. So hard. So wonderful. So fun.
    This is it. Love it.

  5. I am so happy to hear that things are better and that you got a chance to getaway!

  6. Holy moly – it’s been a year?! Wow, you said – time flies. I’m so happy to hear that things are getting better. Those tough times are tough (as I’m finding out). A get-away to Flagstaff sounds like it was just what the doctor ordered. The photos are gorgeous. I bet it was nice to come back refreshed and newly in-love with your child again. Seems like just when you are at your wits’ end with the little guy, he makes himself irresistible! At least that’s how it happens in our house…. I just remembered I owe you an email response! I’m horribly behind but I want to respond and will … I promise 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

