Posted by: CatherineD | November 19, 2010

Daniel is 23 months old…

… but only for two more weeks – Yikes!

We have officially started the holiday season – a busy time for many people, but especially for our family. Between Thanksgiving, Hanukkah, Christmas and five birthdays, it gets pretty crazy. Add to that the fact that we just put our house on the market and we’re moving into a new house. What were we thinking? Sheesh.

I’m proud to say that I have most of the house packed, and we still have two weeks before moving day. Being a big procrastinator, it’s refreshing to be ahead of schedule for once!

I recently got an email from a couple whom we “met” over the phone a few months ago when they called us as a reference for our adoption agency. They were still deciding how they wanted to expand their family and were considering our agency and Korean adoption. They just completed their homestudy, and they have also started a blog, We hope Seoul. I’m so excited for them, and I’m looking forward to following along on their adventure.

Daniel is just as cute as ever, and I have turned into one of those parents who gushes over her kid. I catch myself constantly asking him, “Are you the cutest EVER?” and “Do you KNOW how cute you are?” Pre-D, I would roll my eyes when I heard parents say things like that, but now I totally get it.  I guess parenthood does that to you.

He has been talking and babbling like crazy, but still not talking talking yet. Here are just some of the oh-so-cute things he says:

Babba – Yo Gabba Gabba (used to be a favorite, but has taken a back seat to Thomas)
Bah – Grandma
Bah – Grandpa
Bah (not to be confused with bah, for Grandma or Grandpa) – Thomas the Tank Engine (possibly his favorite thing in the whole world)
Bebe – Baby
Boo! – Peek a boo
Boon – Balloon
Bubbo – Bubbles
Bah bah (while flapping hand wildly) – Bye!
Dada – Daddy
Dah – Duck
Deh – There
Ha (also said while flapping his hand wildly) – Hi!
Ko – Cold
Ko – Go
Ko deh – Go there
Mama – Mama
Mo – More
Mo mo – Elmo
Mooh – What cows say
Nana – Nana, his great grandma (and favorite person)
Raaah – What lions say
Uh oh – Uh oh
Unh unh (said while vigorously shaking his head) – No
Whoa – Whoa!
Wow wow (pointing to the offending body part) – Owie
Wow wow – What dogs say
Yeah – Yes

Here are a few of my favorite pictures from the past few months. Isn’t he sooooo cute?! [gush gush]

What does the lion say?

Modeling his Guatemalan pants

Responses

  1. He’s totally the cutest!!! Good luck with the busy month(s) ahead!

  2. What a great update!!! He is ABSOLUTELY adorable! Good luck getting through the next several weeks!

  3. Thanks for the plug! We love your blog.

  4. I can’t believe how much more mature Daniel’s face is getting! Such a cute little boy. Good luck with your move!

  5. What a GREAT update. I love those pants your D is wearing in the last shot! Moving in the midst of the end-of-the-year craziness?…wow! I love reading what other little guys D’s age are doing. I hear some of the same words around here. We just celebrated our D’s birthday and are moving full-steam ahead into the holidays.

  6. Great update Catherine. We’ve missed you. Boy is Daniel growing up! He is just the cutest, I love all these photos of him. He’s got lots of words! Btw, I love that “bah” is the word for grandma, grandpa, AND Thomas the train – hee hee, all the important stuff. Good luck with the party and the MOVE! Lots of fun stuff ahead for you guys.

  7. Can you please tell me where you got the lion costume?
    tenleyadopt@yahoo.com
    Thanks,
    Amber
    P.S. We were in Korea the same time picking up our girl when you were there.


Leave a Reply

Categories

